Arts + Design Wednesdays @ BAMPFA

January 24–April 25, 2018

  • Upcoming
    Films
  • Past
    Films
  • Past
    Events

Past Events

  • Wednesday, April 18, 12 PM

    Porpentine Charity Heartscape

    Bay Area new media artist, video game designer, writer, and curator Porpentine Charity Heartscape is joined in conversation by artist Elisa Giardina Papa.

  • Wednesday, April 11, 12 PM

    The Black Aesthetic

    Hear from members of the Oakland-based collective of artists, writers, filmmakers, and designers focused on black media and culture.

  • Wednesday, April 4, 12 PM

    Gregory Sholette

    A talk by the artist, activist, and author of works on political art, artists’ collectives, and social practice.

  • Wednesday, March 21, 12 PM

    Lynn Hershman Leeson

    A talk by the celebrated filmmaker and media arts innovator.

  • Wednesday, March 14, noon

    Jon Leidecker, a.k.a. Wobbly

    Hear from the electronic musician, sonic collagist, and improvisational sound artist known as Wobbly.

  • Wednesday, March 7, noon

    Jim Campbell

    A talk by the Bay Area–based new media artist famed for his work with LED light.

  • Wednesday, February 28, 12 PM

    Jeanne C. Finley and John Muse

    Two artists and longtime collaborators discuss their work.

  • Wednesday, February 21, 12 PM

    Jacob Gaboury

    Insights from an assistant professor of new media history and theory at UC Berkeley.

  • Wednesday, February 14, 12 PM

    Chip Lord

    The pioneering media artist and founding partner of Ant Farm pays a visit to BAMPFA.

  • Wednesday, February 7, 12 PM

    A + D Wednesdays: Ken Ueno

    A talk by an illustrious composer, vocalist, and sound artist.

  • Wednesday, January 31, 12 PM

    Barbara Hammer

    The pioneering feminist visual artist and experimental filmmaker talks about her influential practice.

  • Wednesday, January 24, 12 PM

    Craig Baldwin

    Hear from the filmmaker behind the Other Cinema at San Francisco’s ATA gallery, one of the Mission District’s last underground art spaces.